Pillars Of Islam

Many parts of Islamic religious practice evolved and were codified for Muslims to learn and apply. Islam, which literally means “to surrender to Allah,” is founded on beliefs known as the Five Pillars, arkan in Arabic, to which all people of the Islamic society, Umma, must adhere.

Studio Arabiya would like to introduce you to the 5 pillars of Islam and how they were mentioned in the Quran and Hadith. Keep reading to know more.

What Do The 5 Pillars of Islam Mean?

The five pillars of Islam are the core principles of Muslims that we should all adhere to and educate our children from an early age. When you learn about the fundamentals of Islam and put them into practice, you become a real Muslim.

One of the most popular assumptions regarding Islamic history is that the Five Pillars were fully established and in place when the Prophet died in 632 C.E. However, the majority of modifications to these Islamic rites resulted from modest variations among minority Muslims communities.

The Pillars’ fundamental principles were already in existence, taking the form of the Prophet Muhammad’s life and beliefs. The Five Pillars are alluded to throughout the Quran, and some are explicitly stated, such as the Hajj to Mecca.

What Are The 5 Pillars of Islam?

So, what are Islam’s five pillars and what do they imply? The five pillars of Islam in order are the declaration of faith (shahada), prayer (salah), alms-giving (zakat), fasting (sawm), and pilgrimage (hajj). 

Maintaining the pillars is considered important for all serious believers of the Prophet Muhammad (Peace Be Upon Him), male and female, Sunni and Shi’a. However, unfortunately, this does not imply that all Muslims do so on a regular basis.

Circumstances change, as they do in all religions, and some individuals are more committed to their religion than others. The amount of time you devote to these activities is determined by your age, stage of life, work, family commitments, health, and financial situation.

What Are The 5 Pillars of Islam in English?

In order, the five pillars of Islam are as follows:

  1. Declaration of Faith (Shahada) 

The Shahada is the fundamental confession of faith and devotion of Muslims. Here’s what you recite:

“There is no God but Allah, and Muhammad is His Messenger.” 

“Ash-hadu alla ilaha illa Allah, wa ash-hadu an Muhammadan rasulu Allah”

It distinguishes Muslims from believers of other religions. Before becoming a Muslim, it must be said three times in front of witnesses. It is the first step in becoming a Muslim, thus it is listed first in the pillars.

“Say, [O Prophet,] “I am only a man like you, ˹but˺ it has been revealed to me that your God is only One God. So whoever hopes for the meeting with their Lord, let them do good deeds and associate none in the worship of their Lord.”

(Surah Al Kahf)

  1. Prayer (Salah) 

Salah is the Islamic ceremonial prayer in which all Muslims surrender to the will of Allah. Prayer is given five times a day in the direction of the Holy Kaaba in Mecca. Friday is set aside for congregational salah (Juma).

It is one of the key distinctions between Muslims and non-Muslims since a Muslim who does not conduct salah is not regarded as a real Muslim. On the authority of Jaber bin Abdullah Al-Ansari and his father, Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) said:

“Between a man and disbelief and polytheism is leaving prayer.”


Allah SWT has mentioned Salah in different positions in the Holy Quran, this is one of them:

“And to establish prayer and fear Him.” And it is He to whom you will be gathered.”

(Surah Al An’am)

  1. Alms-giving (Zakat)

Zakat is a mandatory alms-giving payment made by Muslims to those in need. In the Quran, Allah SWT bestowed significant value on it.

“Establish regular prayer and give Zakat, and obey Allah and His messenger.”

(Surah Al-Ahzab)

We can pay zakat in eight different categories, according to the Quran:

“Zakah expenditures are only for the poor and for the needy and for those employed to collect [zakat] and for bringing hearts together [for Islam] and for freeing captives [or slaves] and for those in debt and for the cause of Allah and for the [stranded] traveler – an obligation [imposed] by Allah. And Allah is Knowing and Wise.”

(Surah At-Tawbah)

Islamic organizations encourage their members to use their services to relieve poverty and assist refugees, natural disaster sufferers, the urban poor, and persons in conflict zones.

In Islam, ignoring Zakat is a major offense. According to Abu Huraira (May Allah Be Pleased With Him), Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) said:

“There is not a day upon which the servant awakens but that two angels descend. One of them says: O Allah, repay one who spends in charity! The other says: O Allah, destroy one who withholds charity!”

(Bukhari and Muslim)

  1. Fasting (Sawm)

Sawm is conducting a fast in English. Muslims are expected to fast throughout Ramadan, the ninth month of the Hijri calendar. It has a prominent place in Islam.

“O you who have believed, decreed upon you is fasting as it was decreed upon those before you that you may become righteous.” 

(Surah Al-Baqarah)


During Ramadan, Muslims should refrain from eating and drinking, sexual contact, and smoking during daylight hours, which vary depending on the season of the year. Muslims break their fast with a meal after the sun goes down (iftar).

Fasting is rewarded immensely in Islam during the Muslims’ lives and the hereafter. Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) also said:

“Fasting is a shield or protection from the fire and from committing sins.”


It is essential to explain to your children that the elderly, ill, pregnant, or nursing mothers are not permitted to join and that children, like themselves, are not required to engage until they hit a certain age when they can bear with fasting the whole day.

  1. Pilgrimage (Hajj)

Completing the Hajj, or pilgrimage to Mecca, is a religious duty that every Muslim should fulfill at least once in their lifetime. All pilgrims should be in good physical and spiritual health before beginning on the journey.

On the various days of their pilgrimage in Mecca, Muslims do a series of individual and collective actions in accordance with a pattern outlined by our wonderful Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) years ago.

“Hajj is [during] well-known months, so whoever has made Hajj obligatory upon himself therein [by entering the state of ihram], there is [to be for him] no sexual relations and no disobedience and no disputing during Hajj. And whatever good you do, Allah knows it. And take provisions, but indeed, the best provision is fear of Allah. And fear Me, O you of understanding”

(Surah Al Baqarah)

What Are The 5 Pillars of Islam in Arabic?

Here’s a list of the 5 pillars of Islam in Arabic:

  1. شهادة أن لا إله إلا الله وأن محمدًا رسول الله
  2. إقام الصلاة
  3. إيتاء الزكاة
  4. صوم رمضان
  5. حج البيت لمن استطاع إليه سبيلًا

Why Are The 5 Pillars of Islam So Important?

The 5 pillars of Islam are so important because they work as guidelines for Muslims who want to lead a life that pleases Allah SWT. in order to be called a Muslim, you have to follow these pillars as a foundation of your religion.

The 5 Pillars of Islam For Kids

Your children should also learn about the Islamic pillars so that they can follow them and pass them down to future generations of Muslims. If you want your kids to learn about the pillars of Islam with fun activities, sign up in Studio Arabiya’s kids’ courses online.

You may educate your children on the fundamentals of Islam in entertaining, interactive methods that will inspire them to study more. 

Purchase books for them, allow them to view instructional videos with engaging animations that explain the principles of Islam’s pillars and engage them in question-and-answer activities to test their understanding.

Related Posts